Jubilant Zombies

It’s funny, I still dream of warm nights where perfection resides in our mosquito bites
Where the bodies of numerous people jaiye and gyrate

They exist, but not as we known them to
With drug fuelled rantings and ravings
Addictions that the public may not necessarily care about, so they eat you up from the inside out

It’s not all stomping and shaking, that’s not the only thing making you inebriated

Hallucinogenic drugs with a higher addiction ratio than the perfect high

They’re trying to catch the same rhythm, the same feel as you

They are insane just like you.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Jubilant Zombies

  1. I relate to this poem about addiction especially the insanity of it. I was using cocaine and drinking 22 hours a day and because I was bulimic and making myself sick 3 times a day the doctors said every time I did that I could have a fatal heart attack. But because my mother was in a terrible state after multiple strokes I thought I wanted to die so the more risks I took the better. When I thought I was having a heart attack my response was to take more cocaine. When I went into a Jamaican ghetto at midnight to score cocaine and thought I was very likely to be gang raped and have my throat cut I thought well whatever happens I’ve got to get the drugs. I was so lucky not to die in my addiction and that my family forced me into treatment. The rehab broke my denial and I realised I had a serious problem and needed to get clean. I was 11 years clean at the beginning of this year, all my addictions and mental health problems are in recovery and I am happier and more peaceful than I have ever been. Also very importantly I am sane for the first time in my life.

    • goldyntears says:

      I’m really sorry about all you went through but at the same time I’m brimming with joy at the love that guided you through in the end as not everybody has that or can even find it

      I hope you stay well and unashamed of the things that have shaped who you are today xx

Leave a Reply

